Special Awards

2011 Iditarod

• Presented in memoriam of Jerry Austin, this award has been presented since 1980 to the top-placing rookie.
• Musher receives: a $1,500 check and a commemorative trophy

Rookie of the Year

2013 Iditarod

• This award is present to the musher who bettered his/her previous finish by the most places.

• Musher receives: o $2,000check and a commemorative trophy

Most Improved

2015 Iditarod & 2017 Willow 300

Presented since 1982 to a top 20 team Based on specific criteria to determine who has best demonstrated outstanding dog care throughout the Race while remaining competitive. Recipient received a lead crystal cup on an illuminated wooden base.


2016 & 2017 Iditarod

Nome Kennel Club Fastest Time from Safety to Nome
• Presented by the Nome Kennel Club since 1973, this awards goes to the musher with the fastest time from the Safety checkpoint to Nome.

Fastest from Safety to Nome

2017 Iditarod

Each year, the first musher to reach the Yukon River wins the “First Musher to the Yukon Award,” sponsored by the Lakefront Anchorage hotel. The prize includes $3,500 in one-dollar bills and a five-course meal with wine pairings.

First to the Yukon

Aurora 50/50 | Willow 300
Kobuk 440 | Knik 200

Wining is always fun, as the years go by, team petit continues to out perform the field participating in all diciplines.